Baby Joy

Three members of the Hanover Rhinos’ family welcomed babies to the world in April. We sat down with them to discuss the new additions to their own families for the Rhino Charge feature interview for May.
________________________________________________________

roland


Roland Johnson
Baby’s name: Kasie
Gender: female
Birthdate: 4/18
Child #: first

GM: What has this first month as a father been like?

RJ: It’s been wonderful. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

GM: Has it been everything you imagined it would be when you found out you were having a baby?

RJ: Naw, it’s totally different. I thought it was gonna be easy.

GM: What are some of the most difficult things about being a parent?

RJ: Nothing’s difficult. When you love someone so much more then yourself, nothing is gonna be a problem.

GM: What was going through your mind when you held your daughter for the first time?

RJ: Like, how can I love you so much and I just met you.
________________________________________________________
kodyc
Cody Klinefelter
Baby’s name: Isabelle
Gender: female
Birthdate: 4/30
Child #: second

GM: You are the veteran parent of the group, with this being your second child. How different was this second time around?

CK: This time, I was ready to expect the unexpected, but, to add on to the importance of being there with my wife and helping her with the baby, this time I had another baby to worry about at the same time, so sleep wasn’t an option. My responsibility was greater and the importance of me to be home to cook dinner for (my wife’s) teenagers, clean the house, and put Elijah to bed, at the same time go back and forth to the hospital to be with my wife and new daughter, it was something new to me, but I felt the confidence of a father become stronger and my patience grow stronger with everything that was going on since my wife was in the hospital healing from a c-section.

GM: Who is more relieved that the baby is finally here, you, or your wife, Beth?

CK: Beth. She has been waiting to have a daughter her whole life. After Elijah came, she thought she was cursed to having all boys, considering Elijah was boy #4.

GM: How about you? What makes having both a boy and a girl so interesting for you?

CK: Having a boy and a girl is interesting because I get the best of both worlds. I get to raise my son up to be a good young man, and I get to raise a daughter to be a good young lady. The best part is, everything is going to be a learning experience for me just as much as it will for them. I didn’t really grow up with kids around that were younger. I’m the baby of my family. Well, my twin is two minutes older than me, so of course technically, I’m still younger. So raising my son and daughter will be interesting for the fact, two different people with different agendas, in a sense of, Elijah will want to fish and Isabelle will want to have tea parties and what not, I’ll still be teaching her MMA, how to handle a gun, and how to drive a clutch and race, so she can depend on herself and be prepared for her brother to challenge her and give him a run for his money type of thing.

GM: What’s your advice to first time parents out there?

CK: Get all the the sleep you can before the baby is born. Relax, listen to your instincts, and take advice. Mostly, be patient with your newborn, crying is their language. Remember to always make them first to everything. They are your responsibility, anything you do is for them.
________________________________________________________
travis
Travis Garretson
Baby’s name: Adaline
Gender: female
Birthdate: 4/24
Child #: first

 GM: Describe the feeling of being a father for the first time.
TG: It’s definitely scary for the first time. After the baby is born, all the nurses seem like they’re in a panic, so I was panicking, but it’s normal for the nurses. They just want to make sure everything is alright. I told everyone I wouldn’t cry, but I cried like a baby, because I was so scared and happy at the same time.
GM: Did you cry more than your wife?
TG: I guess you could say that, considering she didn’t cry.
GM: What’s the best parenting advice you’ve received?
TG: That is a real tough question. Everyone gives you advice. I’ve only been a father for a month now, so I’m still learning what works and doesn’t work. I guess the key and best advice is to have patience.
Remember fans, you can catch the Hanover Rhinos’ feature interview of the month once a month only on Rhino Charge, the official blog of the Hanover Rhinos.
Leave a Reply

