Wordy Wednesdays

A Word With: Jeremy Knaub

mirandaandhendrixLast week, former Hanover Rhino Jeremy Knaub, who is serving in the United States Navy, returned home for a week, and visited his former teammates at practice.

George Marinos sat down with Knaub to catch up on life in the service and ask about what it was like to be back in pads for a few hours.

GM: I’m here with Jeremy Knaub, former running back for the Hanover Rhinos. When we last spoke, you were running over defenders on the field. Now you are serving the country overseas. What was it like to return to practice and see the guys on Tuesday?

JK: It was good. Saw a lot of new faces, and a lot of old ones too.

GM: Explain what you’ve been doing these last several months for some of our readers who may not know?

JK: My job over here is to provide security for the base itself, and also provide security for a flight line.

GM: Where are you stationed?

JK: Bahrain. It’s a small island off the coast of Saudi Arabia.

GM: The day of the Santa Bowl, you mentioned on the team page about being in a desert. Is it pretty hot over there?

JK: Yes, it’s pretty hot here, but I was surprised that it actually gets cold over here, too. I remember getting issued cold weather gear and laughing about it, and I was actually going to ship it home because it was just taking up space, but I’m so glad I didn’t. When you think of Middle East, you think of hot, but it gets cold here too.

GM: Did you have any snow?

JK: We didn’t get any snow, but, at times it did feel like it was going to.

GM: What’s the thing you’ve missed most about Hanover?

JK: I’d have to say just football, because I’m from York. The only time I come to Hanover is to play football. But as far as the team, I miss everything. I miss competing, and playing the game I love.

GM: What’s your message to the guys for the rivalry game against York this weekend?

JK: Look at the opportunity you have in front of you. There are a lot of guys who have played this game before us, and I promise there will be guys playing this game after us, but right now, at this very moment, it is your time. Talent can only take a team so far, but 22 guys who can each do their job at the same time, on every single down, cannot be stopped. And one of my all-time favorite quotes: “Everyone has a game plan ’til they get punched in the mouth”. Football is 80% mental. Read your keys and be physical, and you will win.

GM: How much would it mean to you to see Hanover come through with a win after what happened last year?

JK: It would mean a lot, because after the beating we took last season and how they ran up the score, I think we owe them one.

GM: What was it like being out there at practice and playing football again?

JK: It was awesome. Felt good to put the pads back on, and I got to compete in 1-on-1s, which was nice.

GM: Was it like you never left, or was there rust you had to shake off?

JK: I’m a different player than I was last season. Last season I was 215 lbs. I’m currently 188 lbs. I’m a completely different player than last season. I was more of a Mike Alstott, big and slow, and next season, I want to be more of a Christian McCaffrey-like. Return punts, kicks, and catch the ball out of the backfield, and start to beat people with moves and speed instead of just lowering my shoulder. I’m the strongest I’ve ever been, and in the best shape of my life. I want to try to help the team wherever a hole needs filled.

GM: Thanks for your service, and continued good luck on the rest of your tour. We hope to see you back out on the field next season.

Leave a Reply

