Rhino Bites

Get to know two of the newest members of the Hanover Rhinos! Rhino Bites is a segment that will run once a week during the off-season, and feature a blaster pack of questions to two new Hanover Rhinos.
_________________________________________________

JAKE ORNER

orner

Age: 23                 Position: QB         Profession: math teacher at Dover High School

#1.  How did you get into teaching, and why is your job important?

JO: I got into teaching because I wanted to make a difference. I constantly challenge my kids, so that they have to step up their game and they become better people for it. Too many teachers and schools cater to their students, I believe the harder you are on your students, the more they grow and the more they learn. I try my best to prepare my kids for college and the real world.

#2. Were you super-into math in school, or was that an interest that developed later?

JO: I was always a good math student, but I never worked hard at it until junior and senior year of college. I loved math because it was the only thing that really challenged me academic-wise, and I enjoyed the process of figuring things out on my own.

#3. You recently got engaged. How exciting is that?

JO: I am so excited to be marrying the girl of my dreams. We met each other in college 5 years ago, and I can’t wait to grow old together. She is everything I was looking for, and more.

#4. When you get up in the morning for school, do you prefer coffee or tea?

JO: I am a heavy coffee drinker. I have a cup before work on the ride in, then at least another cup during school. My dad works at Starbucks, so I get plenty of free coffee.

#5. Who’s your favorite smurf?
JO: Definitely Brainy Smurf. Knowledge is power.
__________________________________________________
ENRIQUE RODRIGUEZ
rique

Age: 24 Position: OT

#1. What’s something interesting about yourself that most people don’t know?

ER: Very hard worker. Started working at a very young age, about 8 years old, with my uncle and grandfather that I’ve always looked up to. Been working hard ever since, at everything I do, whether it’s Sports, helping family, friends, last but not least, my favorite, supporting my beautiful fiance and two children.
#2. Do you have boys or girls?
ER: Two boys, 3 and 5.
#3. When you’re home, do you spend more time watching kids shows, or football?
ER: Definitely watch more kid shows. Kids control the remote. I just pay the bill.
#4. What’s the program of choice in your household?
ER: SpongeBob, on Nickelodeon.
#5. How did you find out about the Hanover rhinos?
ER: My friend Chase Scharf told me about the team.
___________________________________________________
Leave a Reply

