Rhino Bites

Get to know two of the newest members of the Hanover Rhinos! Rhino Bites is a segment that will run once a week during the off-season, and feature a blaster pack of five questions to two new Hanover Rhinos.
____________________________________________________________________

STEWART HAKE

stu

Age: 33  Position: CB/WR

1. You’re very present in the local bmx and dirt bike scene.

What draws you to the sport?

SH: It’s always been a passion of mine to be able to compete in anything athletic. Growing up in Red Lion, football was life. But I never went past high school with it. So this is my step to see if I could recapture some of that passion for football and show my children that, no matter what, if you love somthing, you train hard, and with good teamwork, anything is possible.

2. Is being a dad the most incredible thing that has happened for you, and if so, why?

SH: Absolutely, being a dad has brought me more joy than anything else I have ever done. And accomplishing giving my children the best and sending them out as adults ready to take on the world will be my greatest achievement. My children give me inspiration to keep going forward daily, no matter how hard life is. And when I feel like losing it, I look to them, and think before I act, knowing they are watching and following.

3. What’s one thing you’d like your new teammates to know about you that they may not already know?

SH: Well, one thing to know is, I may not be the best player out there, but I can guarantee that four quarters, I’m gonna give every last drop of what I have to the game. We become more than teammates when we join a team, we become brothers.

4. Pick one of these questions and answer it. What’s the strangest thing a teammate has said in a huddle? Or, What’s the strangest thing one of your kids has said to you?

SH: Strangest thing one of my kids has ever said is my daughter asking me, if she ever kissed a boy, if she would then have a baby, and like any good father, I said yes, so no kissing.

5. What are the most recent 5 songs in your music playlist?

SH: Sacrifice, by Essential end; I Am the Fire, by Halestorm; You Should Be Here, by Cole Swindell; May We All, by Florida georgia line; Monster, by Boondox.
____________________________________________________________________

PHOENIX RUSSELL

phoenix

Age: 19  Position:  LB/RB

1. You got to be a part of the premier high school football dynasty of the last 5 years in this area. How awesome was it being a Bermudian Springs Eagle?

PR: Being a Bermudian Eagle makes me feel proud of what I was a part of. Knowing what we did, and how we did it, I’ll never forget what I was a part of. It’s an honor to have been part of those teams. There is no better feeling than knowing that we were the best coached, most athletic, and most disciplined team around this area.

2. You were teammates with Dustyn Lauver there. How big was he in recruiting you for the Rhinos?

PR: Well Dustyn and I have been best friends we started playing football together. We are brothers on and off the field. So, when he first joined the team, I was away at basic training. But as soon as I got home, we both just knew we had to play football together again. So it was pretty obvious I was gonna join, all he had to tell me was ‘Hey, I’m playing football again’.

3. So, you were at basic training for the military? Tell me about your service, and why you decided to join the branch you did.

PR: I’m in the Army National Guard. I’m in the artillery field, and I decided to join because, I’ve always wanted to, and I have family who have served. They have always been great role models for me.

4. Without getting into the politics of this subject, what’s on your mind when you hear that national anthem play while you’re standing on the field in pads?

PR: Well, what goes through my head while I’m in pads is, how lucky I am to be able to play the sports I love, and I start mentally preparing myself for what is about to happen. The national anthem actually gets me a little more excited and pumped up to play.

5. You go to a ballgame and get a hot dog. What toppings do you put on it, and why?

Nothing too fancy, just plain, with some ketchup. Maybe if I’m in the mood, some onions. I’m not very adventurous when in comes to food and adding extra things into it. I’m very plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

